In A Heartbeat-How Fast I Liked This Short Film

In A HeartBeat
This is the thumbnail of the Youtube video, short film, In A Heartbeat

This video was seen a lot in my Youtube homepage. I, since I lack contact via social media, haven’t had followers and friends bashing the screen with requests to watch it. So, consider this, late, but hopefully, not too late for discussion.

Yesterday, I decided to give In A Heartbeat a try. Using a smartphone, I tapped on the thumbnail (shown above), and watched it.

I fell in love with it.

It was a simple little lovable story, of a boy who has a crush on a another boy. Once he knew it, his heart came out.

heartbeat_banner
Isn’t that heart CUUUUUUUUUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So, his heart was like, Come on, let’s go meet him!!! with the boy’s thought process being perhaps mostly, NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! Because of this conflict with fear vs. heart, it lands the boy into awkward positions.

Oops Awkward
The awkwardness, in this moment does not apply to only gay/lesbian relationships. If I landed on a guy I liked this way, I’d be super mortified, and want to run and hide. Just saying, really.

I’m spoiling the film-I have to stop spoiling the film!!! Best you watch it, to see how the story unfolds.

Anyway, I love this film, because of how sweet and how it delivers it’s message that love is love. If we ignore the fact, that this is a homosexual relationship, we could see that what the boy goes through, is the same in heterosexual (“straight”) relationships as well.

Boy likes someone. He is in an internal battle between his wanting to confess his love, and not wanting to humiliate himself, or doing something stupid. Then, once he does, his heart had to break–I’m spoiling this film!!!! WHY???!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My favorite character is the heart. It is warm, enthusiastic, and loving-just like it should be. It is also daring and brave. The heart wants the boy and his crush to be together, despite the boy’s fears and society’s thoughts (I was about to say rules, but that’s not right). Actually, the heart doesn’t care about fear, pride, and status quo. As long as the boys are together in love, that heart will be happy and alive (don’t think too much about the last adjective; the heart’s completely fine).

Even without a single bit of dialogue, the film speaks loud, and was able to spread it’s message to whoever watches it. This, to me, was the first film, that was solely about how normal and alright it is to be homosexual, and what little children like the boys in the short film are going through. And I think that is a huge step in progress.

The film is innocent and endearing, introducing homosexuality, without making it seem weird or strange, but warm and full of emotions while keeping it PG rated. I mean, the boy fell in love, and I am able to relate to him, in so many ways. What it must feel to fall in love, and to have fear and pride be voices of doubt, making you want to shy away.

This film was made by film students, Beth David and Esteban Bravo. According to a video, in which Elders react to the video while watching it, only a handful of people, other than these two, worked with them to create this film.

I have no idea how hard it must be to work in computer 3D animation, but I believe they did a phenomenal job-this adjective I do not use often in gushing over anything. ;-D It was one of the best short films I’ve ever seen, and now my top favorite (my previous favorite was the Tangled Wedding made by Disney).

All in all, I believe that people should give this video a chance. Not only that, but this video deserves an Oscar, and a lot more awards. I promise you, you’re going to love this piece of work, in a heartbeat (you see what I did there? Shuffles in total glee).

Sincerely Yours,

Livelyburone

Source of Images: Google Images

Leave a Reply

